My Favorite Chocolate Treat

My name is Veggiewala and I’m a chocoholic. Obviously I’m not alone in this vice so I thought I’d share my absolute favorite chocolate treat with you. It’s called brigadeiro (brig-a-day-ro). During my sophomore year of college, whenever I was seriously stressed-out, my roommate would make me this luscious Brazilian chocolate candy. The dense, silky, fudge-like truffle would instantly put a smile on my face – because when you are eating brigadeiro, it’s almost impossible not to smile. While the recipe is pretty easy, it is also a bit labor intensive. The key to making it is to stir constantly for at least 15 minutes to get the right consistency (it should stick well to the back of a spoon). Your arm might get a bit sore but at least you know you are working off a tiny portion of the calories you are about to consume.

Brigadeiro

You will need:

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. milk (whichever kind you have at home)

2-3 tbsp. of chocolate drinking powder (I tend to have Nestlé on hand)

Chocolate sprinkles and sweetened shredded coconut

Directions:

In a medium saucepan over medium-low heat, whisk together the butter, milk and chocolate drinking powder. Once you are sure there are no lumps, add the condensed milk and begin stirring. Keep stirring for about 15 minutes until you can start to see the bottom of the pan when you stir. Stirring is key so that it does not burn. Once it looks like you are done, pour the mixture into a very well greased baking pan. Let cool for 30 minutes to an hour until cool enough to handle.

Traditionally, at this stage, you would use well greased hands to roll the mixture into little balls and then roll them in chocolate sprinkles. I also like to roll mine in sweetened shredded coconut, though you can use anything you like (i.e. crushed nuts, cocoa powder, etc).  But, if you don’t want to go through all the trouble of presentation, just grab a spoon and dig in!

2 Responses to “My Favorite Chocolate Treat”

  1. binita Says:

    mmmm!!

  2. Sheetal Says:

    this sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

